I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

After about 10 days

I suppose I’ve put it off long enough.  As much as I’d like to keep prattling about playing the violin, at some point I was going to have to come clean.  So here it is.

Let’s take a look again at the opening:

If you look at the far right, those two little dots next to the two vertical bars mean to play this particular passage twice.  So, here’s how it’s supposed to sound:

Now, for the moment you’ve all been waiting for:

Yeah, yeah, I know, but she has been playing for twenty years.  What did you expect after 10 days?  A larger concern of mine than the fact that I play it slow as anything and sound pretty crappy is that weird face I make when playing.  If you missed it, take another look.  What is that?  I look like I’m trying to kiss the violin or something.  Is that normal?  Well, come to think of it, I make weird faces when doing other things too.  Check out me swinging a golf club:

Missed the face?

So I apparently have something else to worry about other than keeping rhythm and my terrible sound – trying not to have a goofy, embarrassing face when playing.  Great.  Just another thing to not throw out the window.

Another thing you probably noticed was how ridiculously slowly I played the opening.  So, we adjusted the metronome to something closer to regular speed.  I know it will be hard, but try to ignore the face:

Yeah.  It’s hard.

We do have to move on, however, so I’ve started on the next passage.  Unfortunately, it involves finding a really high note.  Here’s Danielle trying to show me:

Yeah.  It’s hard.

One Comment on “After about 10 days”

  1. Diana Glass says:

    Kudos Ryan,
    I admire your committment and look forward to watching your progress.
    A couple of things made me chuckle. Danielle’s “Oops that’s a little Sharp!” and I loved how Ryan made some really screechy sounds and Danielle said “Good”. It must be love.


Leave a Reply

