I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

The Horrors of Shifting

Paganini’s caprice is organized as a main theme, followed by 11 variations of that theme, and then a finale.  The theme is the first thing to be played, and takes the first two lines of music:

The circled part is the part that you heard Danielle and I play.  Not bad, right?  It all goes downhill from here.  When I look at the music, I wouldn’t think there was anything that different about any of this.  I mean, none of it looks like variation 11 here:

Not really happy about this variation.  I suppose we’ll cross this bridge when we get there.

Back to the theme.  It actually gets quite a bit more difficult after that circled part because it requires a shift to third position.  Shifting is basically moving the entire left hand so higher notes can be played.  That’s the life of the left hand – constantly moving everywhere, up and down the fingerboard, from string to string, and sometimes it even has to do some string plucking.  Great.  Another bridge to cross.  And still another bridge I’m wondering about is when I’m going to get that violin hickey thing on my neck.  Check out Danielle’s:


One Comment on “The Horrors of Shifting”

  1. Joan says:

    To the bloggin’ gog —

    1. You look good
    2. and you sound pretty good too!
    3. I like the format you’ve set up
    4. I like your ‘voice’ — can hear you
    5. (can see a few typos)
    6. Will continue to read, watch, & listen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s