I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

What I’m getting myself into

I’ll come clean.  I actually just listened to the piece for the first time yesterday.  OK, not the first time ever, as I’ve heard it played in years past, but the first time since this endeavor began.

I’m officially scared.  And not because I was blown away by its difficulty – I’m a bit too naive to know when something’s hard or not – but at certain points as we were listening, Danielle just started laughing.  Not a good sign.

If you’re already familiar with the piece, then this is nothing new.  If not, check out Paganini’s Caprice #24 played by one of the greatest, if not the greatest, violinists of all time – Jascha Heifetz.

One Comment on “What I’m getting myself into”

  1. Gail says:

    Good Luck, Ryan! Sounds to me like you’ve got a Win-Win situation here. You’ll get free lessons with a super teacher/violinist and Danielle will gain insight as a teacher/violinist…after all, teaching is actually learning reversed! I always learn new ideas, new ways to say/play/teach some violin technique from my students every day. Guess that’s why I love what I do even after (EEKKK) 30 years!


Leave a Reply

