I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

So, do you like it?

I was walking through the Colburn cafe yesterday and came upon one of Danielle’s students.  We chatted for a bit, and invariably we talked about vaughn vs violin.  She mentioned that she watched some of the videos of me playing, and asked, “so, do you like the violin?”

Sure.  What’s not to like?

It is an interesting question, though.  Like anything else, it has its ups and downs.  Some days it’s such a chore to practice (I haven’t actually missed a day yet since I started) and other days, I’ll be doing something else and wish I was playing.  But I do derive enjoyment out of it.

Was that not too enthusiastic?  Let’s be honest here.  My enjoyment of the violin is more along that of a dog.  Think about it.  A dog can be in a big sunny field and be as happy as it ever was.  That’s how I am with the violin.  I can play 25 string changes and if only 24 of them completely sucked, I’m pretty darn happy about the one I nailed.  On the other hand, though, one of the Colburn students could play an entire piece perfectly, but if one part was off, it could ruin the performance, or practice, or whatever.

So at my level, it takes less to make me happy, but also at my level, it’s impossible to reach more sophisticated levels of satisfaction.

To answer her question, then, yeah.  I like the violin.

What’s not to like?

One Comment on “So, do you like it?”

  1. JRV says:

    Bad break, baby — know what I mean? LOL!


Leave a Reply

