I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Patting your head and rubbing your belly

A couple of posts ago I mentioned how the right hand was a difficult beast to tame.  Last night, Danielle really wanted to focus on making the right hand more fluid and limber.  She had me put my elbow against the wall so I couldn’t use my arm much and had me play short single bows by only moving my hand:

After that, I played some scales trying to incorporate the new bow technique:

It’s really hard trying to remember everything.  One moment I would concentrate on keeping the hand limber, but then my left hand finger would go on the wrong string.  Then I concentrated on my left hand, but my bow would slide too close to the bridge and my right hand would tighten up into a claw!  It’s this huge balancing act that all has to come together to sound anywhere close to musical.

3 Comments on “Patting your head and rubbing your belly”

  1. Tiger says:

    Actually, your bowing arm looks quite decent, but that could be the result of your “over-the-top” golf swing (per your video) causing you to banana slice your ball but stay straight on the strings … together with your over-pronated left hand and badly cupped left wrist.

    If you want to improve your violin bowing and fingering perhaps several golf swing lessons are a propos … and then you might become a ‘scratch’ violinist too.

    Fore-tissimo …!!!!!

  2. JRV says:

    I like it I like it —

  3. Tracey says:

    Ryan-
    Marc, our music teacher, mentioned to me today that he likes your blog and that he thinks you doing Paganini is really cool. He doesn’t play the violin, but is very familiar with the piece and its difficulty. He said he’s going to keep up on your progress. I said I’d pass along his thoughts!


Leave a Reply

