I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Adding in those grace notes

Who knew that one little not-even-counted note could cause so much trouble?  Remember the grace note from before?

It’s supposed to be played so fast that it doesn’t even figure in the count of each measure.  For instance, see where it says 2 4 on the left next to the treble clef?  That means each measure has the equivalent of 2 quarter notes.  Looking at the above measure, there are 8 1/16th notes and that little grace note, which means that grace note just sort of slides in there.  My last post had me playing the first four measures of variation 2 without the pesky grace notes.  Here’s me playing with (out of about 25 takes, this was the best one):

Can you tell the difference?

4 Comments on “Adding in those grace notes”

  1. JRV says:

    Do you realize that when you write all that you are learning, expressing what you are gaining using words, that you are absorbing far more than if you quietly did your lessons. Writing is foundational, but I know you already know this; it solidifies what you are gaining with working with your teacher and what you are learning in the practicing and with just being with your instrument. Communicating with words intensifies everything.

    • rrvaughn says:

      You know, I didn’t even think of writing this blog as a tool to help me learn the violin, but I think you’re right. Now if I could only get my math students to write what we learn in there, I’d be in business.

  2. reader says:

    love the idea of this blog!! i am an amateur player, so i know how hard the violin is – you’ve got guts! good luck =). i’ll be following your posts with interest.

    it’d be neat to put a countdown somewhere on your page to show how many days you’ve got left to master the paganini


Leave a Reply

