I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Still no grace notes

The other night Danielle had me return to variation 2, but still didn’t have me do any grace notes.  Danielle’s new thing lately is for me to “pound” my fingers down on the strings especially when I’m playing faster notes.  So before tackling the actual piece, she had me do a little exercise where I just played a few notes up and down the D-string:

In the actual variation, the bow dances along the A and D-strings, then transitions on the D-string (similarly to the exercise) so it dances along the E and A-strings:

It seems like I was really proud of myself when I played those two little connecting notes.  Missed it?

Also in the video, the camera work kind of degenerates there as Danielle started clapping, but oh well.  I really like this variation.  It’s fun to listen to, and it’s surprisingly easy.  It’s funny how some things, after listening to them, seem like they’ll be difficult but end up fairly easy, while others don’t seem like they should be a big deal but turn out to be beasts.  When Danielle played this for the first time I was actually really scared about this one.  Hopefully I’ll have the whole variation soon.

Leave a Reply

