I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

A bit of a frustrating evening

I had a marathon practice day today.  This morning, I probably practiced about 45 minutes before going out and about my day.  I got home at around 5:30 and other than putting/taking out clothes from the washer and dryer, I’ve been practicing straight from then until now, which is about 10:20 (I didn’t even have dinner).  Today has been my longest practice day thus far, and the worst part is, I don’t feel like I did anything particularly useful.

Originally I wanted to learn a few more measures of the Kreutzer etude and then post me playing it all from the beginning.  It’s been a few days since I posted a good video of me playing, so I was getting a little antsy.  I already had the first 8 measures of the Kreutzer memorized, and I wanted to get the next 7 memorized.

Yeah right.  I did an OK job of memorizing the next 3 measures, but for the life of me, I couldn’t play the 11 measures all the way through.  I did a serviceable job once when I wasn’t filming, but that was it.  The more time that went by, the worse I got.  As I pushed the 5 hour mark, I couldn’t play through two measures without getting flustered and confused about what to play next.  I think I maxed out my mind.  It’s like I’m so mentally exhausted I can’t even play stuff I can play first thing in the morning.

I’m going to assume this is normal and go to bed.  Hopefully I’ll have a proper recording of the first 11 Kreutzer measures tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

