I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

As my Spanish teacher always said

In high school Spanish class, my teacher told us that when you had dreams in Spanish, you were significantly improving.  If this is true and holds for the violin as well, then if I have violin dreams, does that mean I’m getting much better?

The other night, I dreamt that one of the Colburn students wanted me to play in her recital.  She promised me that my part was really easy and was actually designed for a beginner, while the other violin part that she would be playing was of course much more difficult.  I went to rehearsal and it turned out that all I had to do was pluck the open E-string.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t even get that right and she ended up firing me from her recital.

I still have anxiety or inadequacy dreams relating to high school, the Air Force Academy, work, and grad school.  Add violin to the list.

4 Comments on “As my Spanish teacher always said”

  1. JRV says:

    Hey, buddy — As I tell my boy Blake, “You’ve got nowhere to go but up” — know what I mean?

  2. Mike says:

    Hey I love your blog. I am a fiddler (started at 20) and I love your attitude about learning. I saw the youtube vid of a 5 year old playing this caprice and I thought that was courageous… Just keep going and see how far you can get. I’m sure you can do it. Awesome.

    • rrvaughn says:

      Hey Mike, thanks for the comments. Was the 5 year old you saw Elli Choi? If so, she studied with Danielle for a short time, although she didn’t start working with her until she was 7.


Leave a Reply

