I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Finale or arpeggio (or both?)

This morning, Danielle told me to learn the first two measures of the Finale.  Looking at the entire finale, my mind pretty much shut down:

But if we narrow in on just the first two measures, we see that it actually doesn’t seem that bad.

After further education, I learned that it’s just an A-minor followed by an A-major arpeggio, another learning aid for fledgling (and not so fledgling) violinists.  Learning it was surprisingly easy.  Playing it on the other hand:

I actually just slur two notes at a time because it seemed a little too fast for me.  As you can see in the music above, six notes should be slurred.  Now for the bad news.

Danielle just gave me this assignment; I had no idea how it was really supposed to sound, most notably how fast it’s supposed to be.  Also, she wants me to slur all 12 notes.  Wonderful.  Here’s Danielle:

Comparing her’s and mine, it’s not altogether clear that we’re even playing the same thing.  I think I have a bit to go on this one.

Leave a Reply

