I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Arpeggio again

So I return to the finale, that A-minor arpeggio followed by an A-major arpeggio.  I only slur 6 notes together instead of all 12 like Danielle wants me to eventually play, but it’s a step up from the 2 last time.  Also, Danielle showed me how to bridge with my first finger:

This helps to play faster and cleaner because the first finger stays down on both the G and D strings during the entire arpeggio:

Not the worst thing in the world, but I don’t really like my hand position there:

See how my left hand looks pretty scrunched?  It should be more relaxed and spread out.  Check out Danielle’s hand position:

I’m working on it.

2 Comments on “Arpeggio again”

  1. Skyko says:

    Hi Vaughn,

    Congratulations on your quest!

    Put in lot’s and lot’s LOT’S of time (Every possible moment). Consider getting a stopwatch and timing your practice sessions so that you are aware of actual time spent – rather than getting coffee, checking email, going to the restroom etc.

    Create an extraordinarily comfortable area to play in with a full or 3/4 sized full length mirror to view your stance/position. (Don’t be afraid to sit sometimes-I figure it’s better than not playing at all if you need a little break).

    Fill you mind with only musical thoughts. Watch you tube videos of Perlman, Kavakos, etc. Study their movements, hand positions.

    Be wary of overuse of you left hand (Switch to bowing only if you get fatigued) so you do not get tendonitis.

    If you truly want to eventually play the violin well one day, please be VERY careful not to develop any bad habits on your adventure. (Trust me, they are HARD to break once set in the subconscious).

    And, you have a great teacher so . . .

    Go for it man!

    Peace,

    Skyko

    P.S. I am in LA if you ever have any questions . . .

    • rrvaughn says:

      Hey Skyko, thanks for the advice. It’s interesting you mention injuries, because there are people who are very interested in that side of this experiment–whether I can stay healthy throughout. My left hand does give me some pain, some days are worse than others, but my back gives me more problems, particularly on long practice sessions. I think sitting is a good idea during those times.


Leave a Reply

