I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Practice room paranoia

One of the drawbacks to using the Colburn practice rooms are these little vertical windows on the doors.  You see, when walking the halls here, you hear music from every direction, and when you walk by a practice room, you can peer in and see the talented musician making beautiful music.  Unfortunately, when I’m in there, I get a little paranoid that someone’s walking by, catching a glimpse of me hacking away.  Sometimes I’ll even stop and look out that little window, just to make sure the coast is clear:

My fears, of course, are ungrounded, but it’s easy to be self-conscious when surrounded by this much talent.  Luckily, many of the Colburn students are very interested in my progress.  I chatted with a couple of them in the cafe today and mentioned I was making a little more progress with the finale.  Unfortunately the last few notes aren’t perfectly in tune, but here goes:

It gets really hard after that.

2 Comments on “Practice room paranoia”

  1. JRV says:

    YAY!! That was great —

  2. Lauren says:

    BEST. VIDEO. YET. And I am of course referring to the first one – made me laugh so hard the cat jumped off my lap.


Leave a Reply

