I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

A faster theme

Well, the opening of it anyway.  Danielle just taught me thirds, which come up in variations 6 and 8.  As it turns out, thirds are hard (big surprise) so I’m not quite ready to show you those yet, but I figured I could pump out the theme again almost up to tempo.  It was a bit more challenging than I thought it would be:

Unfortunately, I haven’t practiced that second part enough to keep that pace.  Danielle told me to use the metronome to build speed.  Start at a certain tempo and continually go faster when I play it perfectly at that tempo (I use perfectly loosely here).  Perhaps I’ll be able to get the entire theme up soon.  Also, I’ll have an introduction to thirds!

One Comment on “A faster theme”

  1. Lili says:

    Congrats!!

    You are getting much better. It shows your work and dedication. I wouldn’t think of attempting to play this and have been playing for the same length of time you have, let alone produce a recognizable theme.

    Good job!


Leave a Reply

