I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Fundamentals

Tonight, Danielle performed at a special recital put on by New West Symphony to showcase her new CD.  After she performed, she gave a little question and answer session.  I hear her play so often, sometimes I forget how great of a public speaker she is.  Here is a video of a talk she gave before she soloed with Santa Monica Symphony a few months ago:

Tonight, one of the patrons asked about her teaching and in particular about whether or not she believed in the Russian method, or starting a student with scales and etudes, and not just jumping into a difficult piece.  Of course, this blog came up.  I wouldn’t exactly say that Danielle is going traditional Russian style with me, but we do a considerable amount of scales and arpeggios.  Sure, I am jumping into a rather difficult piece, but it’s happening while I’m doing all that fundamental stuff.  That’s why I have to practice 2 hours a day.

Here’s a video from a lesson Danielle and I had tonight after the recital.  We did a bunch of scales.  I don’t think I’ve posted a C major scale yet (the ones I’ve put up so far have been A major scales but Danielle has me doing C Major to cover the more difficult, but important, 2nd and 4th positions).  Here I slur 4 notes to a bow and then go right into 8 notes to a bow.  Also, different from previous scales, is a little turnaround thing that Galamian had his students do to make the bowings work out:

The sound gets a little dicey, but the intonation isn’t bad.  Danielle’s getting to be a pretty big stickler about intonation.

Leave a Reply

