I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Danielle’s 2 Month Report Card

Here’s the skinny.  First off, there have been major improvements in intonation, as seen by his ability to play a 3 octave scale without transposing keys halfway through.  Seriously – this is a skill that I used to take for granted!

Also, there has been a major breakthrough in his concept of rhythm and pulse.  He can now play along with a metronome!  (Especially when it is taped to his scroll.)   In all seriousness, though, his pace is starting to pick up and he is covering more ground everyday.   Little by little I have been adding  tidbits to his daily routine that give a preview of what is to come in the Caprice.  He hates practicing thirds right now because it’s using new muscles and makes him a little sore, but he knows it’s good for him.  Pretty soon I’ll introduce some easy left hand pizzicato exercises.  All the while, even in this way-less-than-ideal learning situation, we are consistently coverings basics like shifting, intonation, and pulling a good sound out of the violin.  The fact that we are simultaneously learning one of the hardest pieces ever is just a small side project.  Yes, that was a joke.

One of the things he has done religiously everyday which seems to do wonders for his overall tone is long slow whole bows on open strings.  And I mean sslowwww.  He actually enjoys this and commented that it helps him to get his bearings before diving into other exercises.   Two months have flown by and each day that progresses, it occurs to me how much work is still left to be done.  For a second I have a flash of anxiety, but then I remember how amazing my husband is and how hard he is working, and my doubts turn into  pride and optimism.

As for a grade, I’ll be kind and give him an A-, but hopefully that will add some pressure that he’s going to have to keep it up!

Leave a Reply

