I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

More variation 1

It’s funny how different I think I’m playing is compared to how I’m actually playing.  To be honest, the videos I keep subjecting myself to are probably, in and of themselves, helping this little cause of mine.  Oftentimes, I’ll watch a video of myself later and be surprised either in a good or bad way.  Tonight was a particularly glaring example.

I incorporated the spiccato into the first variation how it’s supposed to be played.  With the violin on my shoulder, I knew I wasn’t playing it up to tempo, like Danielle did in the last post, but I thought I was playing it kind of fast.

Nope.

After watching the video, like a football player watching game tape, I was stunned at how slowly I played it.  It’s weird; while playing I felt like I was flying, but when watching it, I feel like I was dragging.  I wonder if this is a common phenomenon.

That one being the best gives you a rough idea of how all of the previous ones sounded.  Oh well.  As is a common theme throughout this blog, room for improvement isn’t a bad thing.

3 Comments on “More variation 1”

  1. Cassia says:

    Pssst, it´s called sp-i-ccato 🙂
    But anyway: you are marvellous!!!!

  2. JRV says:

    It’s never a bad thing!


Leave a Reply

