I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Life post fingerboard tapes

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I haven’t posted a heck of a lot in the last few days.  There are two reasons for that:  1) I’m about to graduate with my masters degree here in about a week and a half and have been, as you could probably guess, fairly busy and 2) I took those fingerboard tapes off and it has been a little dicey ever since.

It’s funny, the biggest influence the tapes had was probably mental.  Did they help with intonation?  Of course, as first position is laid out and they make finding third or fourth position a snap.  More importantly, though, was the boost of confidence.  Jose Canseco described the major boost steroids provided in baseball was that you would just feel stronger, faster, better.  Once that confidence is up, it simply makes everything else seem easier.  The same is true for these tapes on the violin.  I felt like I wouldn’t have to worry as much about intonation in first position and could care more about my sound, or tempo, or whatever.

That safety net is now gone.  Mostly I’m glad, but it has been a bit frustrating because I don’t have a whole lot of new rep to post on here.  A lot of my practicing has been going slowly through scales, checking open strings, trying to hold the intonation together so I don’t go off by a half step before the scale falls apart.

Last night, I got the realization that I actually do have some new rep to share.  I’ve played the theme, variation 2, 3, some of the finale, some of the Kreutzer, scales, but really none of this stuff without tapes.  So, here is the theme I played last night.  It’s not as fast as the one I posted before, but the tempo is a little steadier.  The intonation isn’t horrible, but not where it needs to be.  Hey, I just took the tapes off!

Leave a Reply

