I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Injury!

It was bound to happen sooner or later.

Last night I went to my buddy Dave’s 32nd birthday party at this place that offered us this giant bottle of beer for a hundred bucks or so.  Of course, the one they showed us was an empty demo bottle, so I picked it up to take a closer look at it.  I didn’t notice that there was a hole in the bottom of the bottle, and I sliced my finger on the glass.  It actually bled quite a bit at the restaurant, but I took care of it when I got home.  I forgot to take a picture of it until tonight, and it looks like it’s on the way to being healed, but here it is:

OK, so it doesn’t look that bad, does it?  Let me tell you though, it does hurt and the whole line there is a loose piece of skin, sort of like a really bad paper cut.  The worst part is, as you can probably guess, is the fact that it’s right on the tip of my left hand middle finger!  Or second finger in violin lingo.  You can just imagine coming down hard and fast on the string with that cut.

When this happens, it’s a bit of a fine line to walk; I can’t wait until it’s fully healed before playing because that would be a week or more of lost practicing, but at the same time, I don’t want to totally ignore it because it will take much longer to heal if I do.  To be honest, I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do, but I did take today off of practicing (only my third day off to date).  I will practice to some extent tomorrow, but I’m not sure if I’ll have a band aid or what.

I’ll let you know.

2 Comments on “Injury!”

  1. B.Rajkumar says:

    wish you a speedy healing.

  2. Mary says:

    Bummer! You might try superglue or “liquid bandage” to give you a little bit of cushion for practicing. Hope it heals up soon!


Leave a Reply

