I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

The lesson with Elbert

So I’m finally getting around to putting up something about my lesson with Elbert.  I videoed the entire lesson (about 45 minutes) and edited it down to a little under 5 minutes of highlights.

Video editing is a pain in the butt.

Or maybe that’s just an excuse as to why I’m posting this a week after the lesson.  Either way, here it is!  First though, let me say a quick couple of words before you watch.  Elbert is a buddy of mine, so at times it might sound like he’s being a smartass or giving me a hard time, and I just want to make it clear that he’s (probably) not like that with all of his students.

See what I’m talking about?  I could have edited out him giving me a hard time (maybe he would have preferred it!) but I left them in for two reasons.  First, they’re kind of funny.  Second, and more importantly, they lead to a point I would like to make about doing a little project like this:  you have to have thick skin.  When learning something new, especially something inherently frustrating like an instrument, it’s essential to take it seriously, yet at the same time with a grain of salt.  I think that it’s pretty important not to wrap up my personal self worth with how I’m playing the violin at the time; if I did, I’d be in the fetal position crying in the corner my entire life.

Leave a Reply

