I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Danielle’s Army

I don’t know why, but I’ve always disliked getting haircuts.  I like the result, of course, but for some reason I don’t like to actually sit through a haircut, and I certainly don’t like paying for one (which is why my mom cuts my hair a lot of the time).

So my hair has gotten long lately and I knew a haircut was on the horizon.  What did I do?  What any normal cheapskate would have done:  asked Danielle to cut it.  She, of course, didn’t really want to because she interestingly enough likes my hair longer.  So I did it myself, or started it anyway.  We have these clippers that I think are mostly for facial hair, so I took them to my long, red mane.  Danielle couldn’t take it so she began to help with the scissors and clippers.

Let’s just say that mistakes were made.

Long story short, my hair is what’s now very short.  How short?

Yeah, it’s short.  Probably too short, but it’s OK.  It will grow.

For now, though, I’m in the Army.  Danielle’s Army.  And the enemy?  Bad sounds, poor intonation, improper rhythm, with an unfortunate terrorist threat of not practicing due to laziness.  Fortunately, General Belen is leading the way.  And when it comes to the violin, she makes Patton look like a cuddly little teddy bear.

4 Comments on “Danielle’s Army”

  1. kjennings says:

    you look 5 years younger.

  2. Tracey says:

    Air Force Academy days return!! I love your short hair…surprised? 🙂


Leave a Reply

