I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

Add one to the list

Well, sort of.  Like every other variation, I don’t exactly play the fourth variation here up to tempo or even mostly in tune, but there are some good parts…like the fact that I play the whole thing!  That’s pretty huge.  Whenever I play an entire variation, I feel like I’m on Iron Chef, plating one of the courses.  “You can’t plate too soon” according to Bobby Flay, and I feel the same way here.  If I can play through an entire variation, that’s a good thing–I’ll worry about making it perfect (or at least not that horrible) later, but for now, let’s plate it and learn more!  Because there’s quite a bit of this piece I haven’t even looked at yet.

So for now, I’ll add one to the list – variation 4 I can play all the way through!

It’s a little rough, but I have all the time in the world, right?

Wrong, unfortunately.  I’m now under the 5  month mark – scary!  As a side story, I opened my violin case a few nights ago and my violin was, well, different.  I instantly knew something was wrong as I picked up the mysterious instrument in my case and turned it over in my hands.  I didn’t know who in the world’s violin it was, but it certainly wasn’t mine!  My mind raced through all the possibilities like Danielle playing a trick on me to someone running a huge sting operation to steal violins and replace them with cheap instruments from Target.

As it turned out, Danielle had taken my violin because, as a birthday present, she got me new pegs–these ones with little gears on them that make tuning much, much easier!  The funniest part of the story is that I was actually pretty excited about it and couldn’t think of a better birthday present (maybe an ipad would have been better, but what can you do?), but every musician I’ve told this too has said that they’d be pretty pissed if their significant other gave them an instrument-improving gift for their birthday.  I feel like a little kid, excited to get new stuff for my violin.

I suppose that’s probably a good thing when it comes right down to it.

One Comment on “Add one to the list”

  1. B.Rajkumar says:

    It is in fact good. It is also encouraging that you can play so many notes in one bow stroke!


Leave a Reply

