I’ve given myself one year to master the violin.

As an adult beginner, I should be playing Twinkle Twinkle; instead, I'm playing Paganini's 24th caprice.

This is what I was talking about

Let me prepare you for the video you’re about to see, because trust me, you need preparing.  Not preparing in a good way, as in you’re going to fall down in disbelief that someone so violinistically green as myself can play so beautifully and in tune, but just prepared for the pain and torment I’m about to put you through.

The last few days have been about one thing:  get through variation 1 without it sounding ridiculously painful and unbelievably god-awful.  So, on the upside I suppose it’s not that bad, but it’s not in any way good.  Why, you ask, am I so negative recently when the whole point of this blog was to get ruined by that devilish Paganini anyway?

I blame variation 7.  I’m not saying I rocked out variation 7 like someone who’s been playing since the age of 4, but it’s certainly a much easier variation than some of them, and I was much more comfortable with it.  Going from that to variation 1 wasn’t fun to say the least.

Oh well.  Enough whining.  Get out your earplugs; here it is:

Notice how I have to shift around really quick?  That combined with the quick grace notes leading into quick spiccato makes it, do I even need to say it again?  Yeah, it’s a pain.

2 Comments on “This is what I was talking about”

  1. B.Rajkumar says:

    Hi Ryan,
    It is not bad. In fact it is very good for 8 months learning of the instrument. I think what is happening is that you are maturing in musicality and you are raising your expected level and that is giving rise to a little bit of frustration. Believe me, you are playing very well. Keep it up.

  2. Cassia says:

    The beginning is really impressive. I can´t play this fast at the tip I´m afraid…. In days like these I use to pad myself very much (I have this system with nice little stickers in case I had a good practise session OR I did practise although I am tired or discouraged–as they do it with the kids. I am a beginner, you know? So I want my glittering stickers!). I tell myself: “You won´t be a great viola player in this life, but you soon will go on and achieve as much as you can, just for _yourself_!” That takes the pressure off a little… (but I can always go back to my “Lord of the rings”-Soundtrack-playalong-tunes to rest, because I don´t need to practise Paganini for 12 months–thank God ;-))
    All the best for you!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

